‘Attacking, aggressive cricket’ key to Pak’s success in New Zealand: Yasir Arafat

Karachi [Pakistan], Nov. 14 : Pakistan all-rounder Yasir Arafat believes that "attacking and aggressive cricket" would do the team a world of good and enhance their chances of winning the upcoming two-match Test series in New Zealand.

Arafat, who is not a part of the 16-member squad picked up for the New Zealand tour, said Pakistan has a very good record in New Zealand and there is every chance that could continue this time around.

"I believe that if they want to succeed in New Zealand they will have to play attacking cricket and aggressive cricket.

The seamers need to be told to bowl in an attacking manner rather than relying on containment. The real challenge for Pakistan will be to cope on the seaming early-season tracks in New Zealand and for that reason, they should avoid picking bits and pieces players," Arafat was quoted as saying by PakPassion.com.

Talking about the playing XI which he feels would be suitable for the two Tests, the 34-year-old insisted that he would like to see Pakistan adopt the attacking policy of six frontline proper batsmen followed by Sarfraz Ahmed, three seamers and Yasir Shah.

"They will have to break away from their tried and tested formula which has worked for them in the UAE.

I've played in New Zealand and there will be moisture in the tracks early as it's the start of the cricket season there and the seam bowlers will need to take advantage of that," he said.

The all-rounder believes that spinners would be less effective and may need to perform a role of containment.

Speaking about Pakistan's batting, Arafat said the batters need to be positive and not go in their shells because if they adopt a defensive approach then, according to him, that would play into the hands of the New Zealand bowlers.

The first Test match is slated to start on November 17 at the Hagley Oval, Christchurch and will be followed by the second game from November 25 at Seddon Park, Hamilton.

Pakistan Squad: Azhar Ali, Sami Aslam, Sharjeel Khan, Asad Shafiq, Younis Khan, Misbah-ul-Haq (Captain), Babar Azam, Sarfraz Ahmed, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Nawaz, Yasir Shah, Mohammad Amir, Wahab Riaz, Sohail Khan, Rahat Ali, Imran Khan.

Source: ANI