BJP’s probables in the list for pro-tem speaker

New Delhi, Nov 26 : After the decks were cleared for a floor test in Maharashtra, the question arises who will be the pro-tem speaker in the Assembly.

The Governor B.

S. Koshyari will be required to appoint and swear-in the Pro-Tem Speaker, who, in turn, will administer the oath of office to all the newly-elected MLAs of the 14th Legislative Assembly.

Three senior most MLAs of the BJP who could be the pro-tem speaker are - Haribhau Bagade, Babanrao Pachpute and Kalidas Kolambkar.

Bagade has been a Speaker in the previous assembly.

According to sources, the BJP has submitted a list of 17 senior MLAs to the Raj Bhavan for the post of pro-tem speaker.

The list also includes the names of the Congress, the NCP and Shiv Sena MLAs. Balasaheb Thorat of the Congress is said to be the most senior with eight terms behind him.

However, the Governor can appoint a pro-tem speaker at his own discretion.

The role of the pro-tem speaker is significant when it comes to deciding whose whip will run in the Assembly.



Source: IANS