President to confer National Geoscience Awards

New Delhi [India], Apr. 12 : President Pranab Mukherjee will on Wednesday confer the National Geoscience Awards 2016 at the Rashtrapati Bhavan here.

The National Geoscience Awards, previously known as the National Mineral Awards, were instituted by the Ministry of Mines in 1966, to honour individuals and teams of scientists for their extraordinary achievements and outstanding contributions in fundamental, applied geosciences, mining and allied fields.

The National Geoscience Awards includes one Award for Excellence, one Young Scientist Award and nineteen individual and/or team awards in 16 fields of geosciences.

This year, 27 geoscientists are receiving the National Geoscience Awards, as individuals or team, for meritorious contributions in eleven fields of geosciences.

Source: ANI