`Uncapped` Thikshila named in Lanka T20 squad against Proteas

Colombo [Sri Lanka], Jan.11 : Uncapped all-rounder Thikshila de Silva has been included in the 15-man Sri Lanka squad for the upcoming three-match T20 series against South Africa beginning January 20 at the SuperSport Park in Centurion.

Although Thikshila is the only fresh entrant to a national squad, chinaman bowler Lakshan Sandakan, who has played Tests and an ODI, has also been called in to make his T20 debut.

Leg-spinner Jeffrey Vandersay, who displayed an impressive performance in the World T20 last year, has been dropped in favour of all-rounder Seekkuge Prasanna,ESPNcricinfo reported.

Fast bowler Dushmantha Chameera is also left out of the Lanka T20 squad while seamers Isuru Udana and Nuwan Kulasekara have earned recalls.

The Sri Lanka T20 squad: Angelo Mathews (capt.), Dinesh Chandimal, Danushka Gunathilaka, Seekkuge Prasanna, Niroshan Dickwella, Suranga Lakmal, Nuwan Pradeep, Isuru Udana, Kusal Mendis, Dhananjaya Silva, Asela Gunarathna, Sachith Pathirana, Lakshan Sadakan, Thikshila de Silva, Nuwan Kulasekara.

Source: ANI