2 more Karnataka Congress legislators resign

Bengaluru, July 10 : Two more Karnataka Congress legislators -- M.T.B. Nagaraj and D. Sudhakar -- on Wednesday submitted their resignations to state Assembly Speaker K.R. Ramesh Kumar here, said an official.

"The two legislators submitted their resignations to the Speaker at his office in the state secretariat," an official told IANS.

The Speaker is, however, yet to accept the resignations.

Nagaraj, who represents Hoskote Assembly segment in Bengaluru Rural, declared assets valued at a whopping Rs 900 crore in his affidavit to the Election Commission for contesting in the May 2018 Assembly elections.

Sudhakar, a lawmaker from Chikkaballapur Assembly seat in the adjacent district, was recently made chairman of the state-run Karnataka Pollution Control Board, a post equivalent to a Cabinet Minister.

With Nagaraj and Sudhakar, the number of Congress legislators who resigned since July 1 has gone up to 13, including 10 rebels and suspended party member R.

Roshan Baig on Tuesday.

If the resignations are accepted, the party's strength in the Assembly will reduce to 66 from 79, including the Speaker.

According to sources, 3-4 more party legislators are likely to resign before the 10-day monsoon session of the state legislature begins on Friday.



Source: IANS