31 Cabinet Ministers take oath in Tamil Nadu

Chennai [India], Dec.6 : As many as 31 Cabinet Ministers were sworn in along with Tamil Nadu Chief Minister O.

Pannerselvam on Tuesday after incumbent Chief Minister Jayaraman Jayalalithaa died of cardiac arrest at the Apollo Hospitals at 11.30 p.m.

on Monday evening. The Cabinet Ministers were administered oath of office by Tamil Nadu Governor C. Vidyasagar Rao at Raj Bhawan. Paneerselvam broke down during the ceremony. Panneerselvam is considered to be one of the most reliable men of Jayalalithaa and had served as the chief minister when she stepped down for the trial in the disproportionate assets case.

Panneerselvam resigned as the chief minister on May 22, 2015 paving way for Jayalalithaa to again sworn in as chief minister after the Karnataka High Court acquitted her in the case on May 11 2015.

Jayalalithaa's body will be kept at Rajaji Hall for people to pay last respects. The Tamil Nadu government has declared a three-day holiday for schools and colleges..

Source: ANI