3rd section of Delhi Metro’s Pink Line opens for public

New Delhi, Oct 31 : Third section of the Delhi Metro's Pink Line -- connecting Trilokpuri to Shiv Vihar -- was opened to public on Wednesday, bringing many hitherto unconnected east Delhi areas under the metro network.

The section was formally inaugurated by Union Minister Hardeep Puri and Deputy Chief Minister of Delhi Manish Sisodia from the Metro Bhawan.

The 18-km stretch has 15 elevated stations, including three where commuters can change trains for other metro lines.

These three stations are Karkardooma and Anand Vihar (Blue Line), and Welcome (Red Line).

The stations on the section are Trilokpuri Sanjay Lake, East Vinod Nagar (Mayur Vihar-II), West Vinod Nagar (Mandawali), I.P.

Extension, Anand Vihar ISBT, Karkardooma, Karkardooma Court, Krishna Nagar, East Azad Nagar, Welcome, Jaffrabad, Maujpur (Babarpur), Gokulpuri, Johri Enclave and Shiv Vihar.

"The journey that started in 2002 today (Wednesday) crossed the 300 kilometre-mark to reach 314 kilometres.

The metro project in Delhi is a global success," Puri said at the inaugural.

Sisodia also lauded the Delhi Metro's success over the years, especially in boring through congested areas to giving those better connectivity.

"We see the wonders of civil engineering in the Delhi Metro.

In a city like Delhi, it's a wonder how the metro has expanded through areas such as Chandni Chowk," he said.

The Karkardooma station lying on this section is located at a height of 21 metres above the ground, and is the second highest metro station on the entire network after Dhaula Kuan, also on the same line but on a different stretch.

The 59-km Pink Line, when complete, will encircle most part of the busy Ring Road, connecting Majlis Park in north Delhi to Shiv Vihar in east and will be the longest on the entire Delhi Metro network.

Two of its sections were opened earlier in the year in two phases, connecting Majlis Park to Lajpat Nagar in south Delhi.

After this stretch, only the section connecting Lajpat Nagar-Mayur Vihar Pocket 1 remains to be opened on this line.

The DMRC had earlier said that this section would be opened by December.



Source: IANS