63 militant groups banned in Pakistan, more to follow

Islamabad [Pakistan], Nov. 22 : With the addition of two more militant outfits in the ban list in Pakistan, the total number has reached 63.

The federal government has proscribed the Jamaat-ul-Ahrar and Lashkar-i-Jhangvi Al-Alami after both claimed responsibility for recent attacks on sectarian grounds in different parts of the country.

The updated list on National Counter Terrorism Authority (NACTA) website now shows a total of 63 outfits that have been proscribed by the federal government.

The final decision was taken after feedback from different security, intelligence, investigation and law enforcement agencies and the same was forwarded by the Sindh police and its Counter Terrorism Department (CTD) mainly after the October 29 killing of five persons, including three brothers, outside a Nazimabad house where a Muharram majlis for women was in progress.

Jamaatul Ahrar (JuA), a breakaway faction of the outlawed Tehreek-e-Taliban Pakistan (TTO) and Lashkar-e-Jhangvi Al Almi (LeJA), a franchise of the sectarian terrorist group Lashkar-e-Jhangvi, have claimed responsibility for 10 major terrorist attacks, including the August 8 deadly suicide bombing at Quetta's Civil Hospital.

Two other organisations, Ghulaman-e-Sahaba (GeS) and Maymar Trust (MT), have been under observation (11th Schedule) for six months.

The GeS was put on the 'observation list' on June 30, 2016, while the MT was listed two months later on August 31, 2016 by the interior ministry.

Similarly, Jamaatud Dawa has been on the same list since Jan 17, 2007, though no timeframe has been given by the ministry for the observation of the charity which, India alleges, is a front for the Lashkar-e-Taiba militant group.

Source: ANI