7th Senior National Hockey C’ship: Bengaluru beat Gujarat 13-0

Lucknow (Uttar Pradesh) [India], June 11 : Hockey Bengaluru came out with a breath taking performance as they thrashed Hockey Gujarat 13-0 in their Pool F encounter of the ongoing Hockey India 7th Senior National Hockey Championships 2017 (Men) 'B' Division on Sunday.

Mithun S Bijwad (10', 10', 19', 22', 54') and HT Ramesh (14', 27', 28', 29', 35') scored five goals each, and were complemented by KR Umesha's brace (46', 52') in the encounter.

In Pool D, Central Secretariat beat Hockey Madhya Bharat 10-0. S Puliyanda Thimmanna scored an astonishing six goals (9', 14', 17', 21', 36', 55') in their comfortable victory, one that pushed them to the top of the group.

In Pool F, Hockey Madhya Pradesh beat Assam Hockey 5-1. Deepak Pal opened the scoring for Hockey Madhya Pradesh in the 4th minute. Pritam Singh's 17th minute goal drew Assam Hockey level, before half time. Mayank James' hat trick (38', 40', 60') ensured Hockey Madhya Pradesh finished strongly and took the three points.

In Pool D, Manipur Hockey beat Goans Hockey 9-1. A hat trick by Mantosh Meitei Laishram (24', 29', 46') and a brace each by Jenjen Singh Ningombam (3', 21') and Ganendrajit Ningombam (19', 26') gave them a a second consecutive victory in the tournament.

In Pool G, Punjab National Bank beat Dadra (and) Nagar Haveli Hockey Association 6-0. Goals for Punjab National Bank were scored by Gagandeep Singh (4'), Gurjinder Singh (13', 56'), Shamsher Singh (38'), Satender Dalal (43') and Naveen Antil (58').

Bengal Hockey Association and Hockey Himachal played out an exciting 3-3 draw in Pool E. Goals by Sumeet Pal Singh (3') and Anuj (4') gave Hockey Himachal the lead at the end of the first quarter.

In the second quarter, Bengal Hockey Association pulled one back via a Sanjay Paswan goal in the 19th minute to go into the breakdown 2-1.

Almost from the restart though, Sumeet Pal scored his second of the game to restore the two goal cushion.

From there on though, Bengal Hockey Association wrested the initiative, Mohammad Shariq scoring in the 43rd minute, before Paswan scored his second in the final minute of the game to split the points.

Hockey Puducherry beat Kerala Hockey 9-1 in Pool G. Hat tricks by V Veerathamizhan (3', 10', 34') and T Arunkumar (22', 23', 39') ensured a smooth and comfortble victory for Hockey Puducherry as they continued their perfect start to the tournament.

Kerala Hockey's goal was scored by JV George in the 24th minute. In Pool H, Hockey Unit of Tamil Nadu beat Hockey Jammu (and) Kashmir 9-0. G Gnanavel (21', 36'), V Surendar (21', 42') and M Hariharan scored a brace each in their comfortable victory.

In Pool E, Hockey Bihar beat Tripura Hockey 4-2 in an exciting encounter. Goals for Hockey Bihar were scored by, Jony Kumar (14'), Anil Oraon (48'), Ravi Kumar (59') and Anant Kumar (60').

Tripura Hockey's goals were scored by Mohd Khalid Aziz Khan (38') and Siraj Khan (58'). In Pool H's second game of the day, Sashastra Seema Bal beat Chhattisgarh Hockey 4-0 to continue their superb start to the tournament.

Goals for Sashastra Seema Bal were scored by Agandeep Singh (9'), Jenesh K Meitei (48'), Santi Kumar A Sharma (50') and Ashutosh Kumar (56').

Source: ANI