7th Sub Jr Women’s National C’ship: Hockey Madhya Bharat hammer Hockey Puducherry 5-0

Ramanathapuram [Tamil Nadu], Jan.5 : Two goals from Divya Soni saw Hockey Madhya Bharat crush Hockey Puducherry 5-0 in their Pool B clash of the 7th Sub Junior Women's National Hockey Championship 2017 at the SDAT Velumanickam Synthetic Hockey Stadium here on Thursday.

On the second day of the Hockey India tournament, three matches were played out. In the opening encounter of the day, Hockey Madhya Bharat took an early lead via Aditi Sharma in the 8th minute.

Two minutes later, Divya Soni doubled the team's tally via a penalty corner conversion. At the stroke of halftime, Nandini Sikarwar scored to give them a 3-0 lead at the break. Soni scored a second goal in the second half and Priyanka Yadav capped off an emphatic performance with another in the 66th minute to give Hockey Madhya Bharat a deserved victory.

In the second match of the day, Hockey Him beat Goans Hockey 17-0 in their Pool D encounter. Ankita Dahiya (3', 12', 15', 35', 53', 57', 64', 69') and Jyoti (6', 22', 31', 38', 61', 66') scored an extraordinary 14 goals between themselves.

Captain Arti Kashyap (42', 46') and Kirti (20') were also among the goal scorers. In yesterday's final match Hockey Rajasthan and Hockey Himachal played out an entertaining 3-3 draw in Pool D.

Hockey Rajasthan took the lead via Prasansha Dilliwal in the 20th minute. Komal Bharti added another in the next minute to double that lead. Not to be outdone, Hockey Himachal hit back with a goal in the 22nd minute via Kusum. Hockey Rajasthan scored another in the 33rd minute via Sarita Kumari to go into halftime with a 3-1 lead.

The teams battled it out in the second half and it took till the 60th minute for another goal, Kusum scoring for Hockey Himachal to reduce the deficit to one.

In the 67th minute Captain Manju Rani converted a penalty corner to draw them level. That is how it would stay, as the teams split the points. The remaining day will see Pool A encounter between Hockey Jammu and Kashmir and Dadra (and) Nagar Haveli Hockey Association.

Source: ANI