AAP nominates former SAD district president for Amritsar Lok Sabha by-poll

Amritsar (Punjab) [India], Jan. 15 : The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) on Sunday nominated former Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) district president Upkar Singh Sandhu for Amritsar Lok Sabha by-poll.

Sandhu had resigned from SAD following the Parkash Singh Badal government's failure to apprehend the culprits indulged in desecration of Guru Granth Sahib.

After resigning from SAD, Sandhu tried to join AAP but due to opposition by party volunteers, he joined hands with the Congress.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has nominated its former state vice-president Rajinder Mohan Singh Chhina, whereas, the Congress has finalised the name of its District Congress Committee (rural) president Gurjit Singh Aujla for Amritsar Lok Sabha seat.

From past four Lok Sabha elections, Amritsar has seen Sikh candidates defeating Hindu nominees. The by-poll was needed following the resignation of Congress Punjab president Captain Amarinder Singh from his post on November 23 to protest against the injustice done to the people of Punjab due to the Supreme Court's verdict on the Sutlej-Yamuna Link (SYL) canal water sharing agreement.

Amritsar Lok Sabha by-election will held on February 4 along with state assembly polls..

Source: ANI