Australia announces squad for NZ ODI series

Adelaide [Australia], Nov.23 : Australia has announced its 14-member squad for next month's Chappell-Hadlee Trophy series against New Zealand, starting December 4.

The ODI squad includes uncapped all-rounder Hilton Cartwright, a 24-year-old born in Zimbabwe, who plays for Western Australia.

The 14-member squad includes fast bowler Pat Cummins, who has not played for Australia since September last year, and Glenn Maxwell.

Maxwell has been recalled in the ODI squad after being dropped from the side during Australia's tour of the West Indies earlier this year, and then left out entirely from the ODI squad that toured Sri Lanka.

Trevor Hohns, the interim chairman of selectors, said the panel had been interested in the progress of Cartwright for some time.

"Hilton bowls useful aggressive medium-pace and is a very good striker of the ball. He is an exciting young prospect for Australian cricket and we have been watching him at the pathway level for some time now," Hohns was quoted as saying by ESPNcricinfo.

The three ODIs will be played in Sydney, Canberra and Melbourne on December 4, 6 and 9. Australia ODI squad: David Warner, Aaron Finch, Steven Smith (captain), George Bailey, Travis Head, Glenn Maxwell, Mitchell Marsh, Hilton Cartwright, Matthew Wade (wk), James Faulkner, Mitchell Starc, Pat Cummins, Josh Hazlewood and Adam Zampa.

Source: ANI