Australia rope in three uncapped pacers for Proteas ODI series

Melbourne [Australia], Sept.5 : Australia have brought in three uncapped pacers--Daniel Worrall, Joe Mennie and Chris Tremain in the 15-man squad for the five-match ODI series against South Africa, starting from September 30 in Centurion.

The trio has been chosen to cover the absence of fast bowling spearheads Mitchell Starc and Josh Hazlewood, who have been rested ahead of the Australian summer season.

Confirming the news, national selector Rod Marsh revealed that Worrall, Mennie and Tremain were added in the squad after their terrific performances in last year's summer season and following their consistent display in the recently-concluded quadrangular series.

"They are young players with a bright future who thoroughly deserve their selection and we look forward to seeing them work with John Hastings and Scott Boland, who have both performed well for Australia since returning from injury," Marsh was quoted as saying by ESPNcricinfo.

Meanwhile, Nathan Coulter-Nile, James Pattinson, Pat Cummins and Peter Siddle have not been considered for selection due to their respective injuries.

Usman Khawaja, who featured in two ODIs against Lanka, has been dropped while Travis Head has retained his place in the squad, following a series of cameo performances against Angelo Mathews' side.

On the other hand, Mitchell Marsh and skipper Steve Smith have been called in after being rested from the ODI series against Lanka.

The Australian ODI squad is as follows: Steve Smith (captain), David Warner, George Bailey, Scott Boland, James Faulkner, Aaron Finch, John Hastings, Travis Head, Mitchell Marsh, Shaun Marsh, Joe Mennie, Chris Tremain, Matthew Wade (wk), Daniel Worrall, Adam Zampa.

Source: ANI