Bailey, Finch axed for ODI series against Pakistan

Sydney [Australia], Jan. 7 : Experienced Australian batsman George Bailey and Aaron Finch have been axed from the ODI squad for the upcoming five-match series against Pakistan, while uncapped fast bowler Billy Stanlake and Chris Lynn have been included.

"This is an extremely important series for us as, following it in a ODI context, we have the Chappell-Hadlee series in New Zealand and then, in mid-year, the ICC Champions Trophy, a tournament which we won in 2006 and 2009," Trevor Hohns, the interim head of selection, was quoted as saying by ESPNcricinfo.

"We believe this squad is an exciting combination that covers all bases for us over the course of the five matches against Pakistan," he added.

Bailey has scored one fifty in his past 10 ODIs while Finch has scored four fifties in his last 18 innings.

Speaking on their omission, Hohns said, "George has scored one fifty in his past 10 ODIs and, while his form has not been disastrous, it has not been to his usual standard so we have decided to look at younger players in the middle order in this instance." "Aaron, across the past four series in the Caribbean, Sri Lanka, South Africa and the Chappell-Hadlee series, has scored four fifties in his last 18 innings.

I have spoken to both players and they understand our perspective as selectors," he added. Hohns also asserted that Stanlake is an exciting prospect who bowls with genuine pace and is a player who has made a terrific return to action for the Adelaide Strikers in the KFC Big Bash League after a lengthy time out through injury.

"Chris Lynn is in superb form for the Brisbane Heat and although that is a different form of the game we believe it is right that we give him the chance to show whether he can convert his wonderful ball-striking ability to ODIs," the interim head of selection said.

Australia squad: Steven Smith (capt), David Warner, Pat Cummins, James Faulkner, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Chris Lynn, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Billy Stanlake, Mitchell Starc, Matthew Wade, Adam Zampa.

The five-match series will begin on January 13 at the Gabba and will end on January 26 at the Adelaide Oval.

Source: ANI