Champions Trophy: South Africa opt to bat against Pakistan

Birmingham [UK], June 7 : South Africa won the toss and elected to bat against Pakistan in their second encounter of the Champions Trophy here at the Edgbaston Cricket Ground on Wednesday.

For Pakistan, Fakhar Zaman will be making his ODI debut, replacing Ahmed Shehzad at the top of the order.

Injured Wahab Riaz, who has been ruled out of the tournament, has also been replaced by Junaid Khan. The Sarfraz Ahmed-led side failed to have a dream start in the eight-team marquee tournament as they slumped to a huge 124-run defeat against title-holders India at the same venue on Sunday.

Top-ranked ODI side South Africa, on the other hand, are too far away from all these worries after registering a comfortable 96-run win over Sri Lanka in their opening Group B fixture at the Kennington Oval on Saturday.

They have not made any change in their playing XI. Teams: Pakistan (Playing XI): Azhar Ali, Fakhar Zaman, Babar Azam, Mohammad Hafeez, Shoaib Malik, Sarfraz Ahmed(w/c), Imad Wasim, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Amir, Junaid Khan, Hasan Ali South Africa (Playing XI): Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock(w), Faf du Plessis, AB de Villiers(c), David Miller, Jean-Paul Duminy, Chris Morris, Wayne Parnell, Kagiso Rabada, Morne Morkel, Imran Tahir.

Source: ANI