CSA Awards: Quinton de Kock named Cricketer of the Year

Johannesburg [South Africa], May 14 : Wicketkeeper-batsman Quinton de Kock was named South African Cricketer of the Year at Cricket South Africa's prestigious Awards ceremony on Saturday night.

The 24-year-old in all received a total of five awards at a glittering awards function in Kyalami. In addition to the main award, De Kock was named Test Cricketer of the Year and ODI Cricketer of the Year, was honoured by his peers by being named SA Players' Player of the Year and by the fans on being named SA Fans Player of the Year, reports Sport24.

Although, the wicketkeeper-batsman received a sixth award for being named the ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year, this was not a local award, and thus it technically prevented him from equalling Kagiso Rabada's record at last year's awards when the fast bowler bagged a record six categories.

De Kock was one of the central components in what could be termed as an outstanding season for the Proteas, in which they claimed three ODI series wins and three Tests series wins.

His year included a career-best ODI score of 178 against Australia as well as his Test century in Hobart, which helped Proteas clinch the series victory last November.

"Simply outstanding! What a year Quinton has had," commented CSA chief executive Haroon Lorgat. "He has shown the maturity of a seasoned campaigner with performances that have really counted when needed most, often blowing away the opposition in the process." "It is encouraging that for the second time in a row our premier award has gone to one of our young stars who are shining with distinction alongside our world-class senior players," he added.

Sune Luus was named Women's Cricketer of the Year and their Players' Player award went to Lizelle Lee.

The international newcomer awards went to Keshav Maharaj and Laura Wolvaardt. Award Winners--- SA Cricketer of the Year: Quinton de Kock Test Cricketer of the Year: Quinton de Kock ODI Cricketer of the Year: Quinton de Kock T20 International Cricketer of the Year: Imran Tahir SA Players' Player of the Year: Quinton de Kock SA Fans' Player of the Year: Quinton de Kock Award of Excellence: Temba Bavuma Delivery of the Year: Kagiso Rabada International Newcomer of the Year: Keshav Maharaj Women's Cricketer of the Year: Sune Luus Women's Players' Player of the Year: Lizelle Lee Women's Newcomer of the Year: Laura Wolvaardt First-class Cricketer of the Season: Duanne Olivier List A Cricketer of the Season: Henry Davids T20 Challenge Player of the Season: Farhaan Behardien Coach of the Year: Mark Boucher Domestic Players' Player of the Season: Colin Ackermann Domestic Newcomer of the Year: Aiden Markram Africa T20 Cup Player of the Tournament: Patrick Kruger SACA Most Valuable Player Award: Colin Ackermann.

Source: ANI