Embattled Aussies axe five for Adelaide Test

Melbourne [Australia], Nov. 20 : Following the humiliating defeat in the second match of the ongoing three-match series against South Africa, the embattled Australian team management have made extraordinary six changes for the third Test to be played in Adelaide.

Four uncapped players have been included in the 12-man squad for the Day/Night Test starting from November 24.

Interim selection chairman Trevor Hohns has ushered in a new era by axing five players from the side that surrendered the Commonwealth Bank Test Series to South Africa in Hobart.

Joe Burns, middle-order batsmen Adam Voges (who was not considered for selection due to concussion) and Callum Ferguson, gloveman Peter Nevill and fast bowler Joe Mennie have all dropped out the side that lost by an innings and 80 runs in Hobart, reports cricket.com.au.

The uncapped quartet of Matthew Renshaw, Peter Handscomb, Nic Maddinson and Chadd Sayers have been included in a 12-man squad for the final match in which the host would seek to earn a consolatory win and regain some lost prestige.

Meanwhile, 28-year-old wicketkeeper Matthew Wade and Tasmania quick Jackson Bird have also been recalled in the side.

Australia, which is currently ranked third in the ICC Test Rankings, will further slip to fifth if they fail to stop South Africa from completing series whitewash in the Adelaide Test.

The Australian squad for the Adelaide Test is as follows: Steve Smith (c), David Warner (vc), Jackson Bird, Peter Handscomb, Josh Hazlewood, Usman Khawaja, Nic Maddinson, Nathan Lyon, Matt Renshaw, Chadd Sayers, Mitchell Starc, Matthew Wade.

Source: ANI