India win toss, elect to bat against Windies in opening Test

Antigua, July 21 :India have won the toss and opted to bat first in the opening Test of the four-match series against West Indies here at Sir Vivian Richards Stadium on Thursday. India, which are starting as strong favourites, will head into the match aiming to seal their third straight Test series win under Virat Kohli. Meanwhile, West Indies will be playing their first five-day series since losing 2-0 to Australia in December and January. As far as playing XI is concerned, India have decided to go with five bowlers namely, pacers Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav and Mohammed Shami and spinners Ravichandran Ashwin and Amit Mishra. Batsman KL Rahul has missed out with Murali Vijay and Shikhar Dhawan all set to open the batting. For the hosts, Rajendra Chandrika has been called in to make his Test debut. India Playing XI: Virat Kohli (captain), Ajinkya Rahane, Ravichandran Ashwin, Shikhar Dhawan, Amit Mishra, Mohammed Shami, Cheteshwar Pujara, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Ishant Sharma, Murali Vijay, Umesh Yadav. West Indies Palying XI: Jason Holder (captain), Kraigg Brathwaite, Devendra Bishoo, Jermaine Blackwood, Carlos Brathwaite, Darren Bravo, Rajendra Chandrika, Roston Chase, Shane Dowrich (wk), Marlon Samuels.