Legislature party leader will be selected today: Himanta Biswa Sarma

Guwahati (Assam) [India], Mar. 13 : North-East Democratic Alliance convenor Himanta Biswa Sarma on Monday said that observers Piyush Goyal and V.

Sahasrabuddhe have arrived in Manipur, adding they will select the legislature party leader by this evening.

Manipur Governor Najma Heptulla earlier in the day said that she has not received Chief Minister Okram Ibobi Singh's resignation yet and added that only then the process of government formation can begin.

"I have not received, till today, any resignation letter from the Chief Minister, though yesterday I told him that the process of formation of the government will begin once he resigns," Heptullah told reporters.

The Governor informed that she was approached by the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leaders along with its supporters to stake claim to form the government.

"Along with one LJP MLA, the four MLAs of NPP, one MLA from Trinamool Congress and one MLA from the Congress Party called on me.

The president of NPP spoke to me on telephone and sent the letter of support to BJP-led government to the governor's house.

I was satisfied that they have the support of 32 MLAs," she said. Heptullah further said that the Chief Minister came to meet her post the meeting with the BJP-led delegation to form the government in the state.

"I told the Chief Minister that first you resign then only I can start the process of formation of the government.

He didn't say anything and just went away," Heptullah added. Heptullah further said that the Election Commission of India will give her a notification with a list of elected members and only then she will start the process.

In Manipur, efforts continue for government formation in the state as both the BJP and Congress met the Governor in Imphal last night, with the ruling Congress staking claim to form the government and BJP showing its strength.

The Congress had won 28 seats in Manipur, followed by the BJP 21. The NPP and the NPF have won four seats each, while the LJP and the Trinamool Congress have bagged one seat each.

Source: ANI