NCP-Sena-Cong combine to approach Governor to stake claim

Mumbai, Nov 26 : The Nationalist Congress Party (NCP), the Shiv Sena and the Congress will approach Governor B.S.

Koshyari to stake claim to form the government in Maharashtra after election of Uddhav Thackarey as the leader of three parties.

Speaking to reporters here, NCP spokesperson Nawab Malik said, "After Thackeray is elected as our leader, we will go to the Governor to stake claim to form the government."

His remarks came soon after Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis met the Governor and submitted his resignation.

Fadnavis was sworn in the Chief Minister on Saturday morning along with Ajit Pawar, NCP chief Sharad Pawar's nephew, as his deputy.

Slamming the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Malik said resignation of Fadnavis was the victory of 11 crore people of Maharashtra.

"The BJP was of the opinion that it will be in power and won't follow rules, but it was shattered," he said.

Malik said the NCP-Sena-Congress government would last for five years without any trouble.

Describing the NCP supremo as the real Chanakya of politics, Malik took an apparent dig at Union Home Minister and BJP chief Amit Shah, and said, "Maharashtra has shown who is the real chanakya of politics."

The NCP-Sena-Congress were stunned on Saturday after the Governor sworn in Fadnavis as the Chief Minister.

Following this, the three parties moved the Supreme Court.

Earlier during the day, the apex court passed an interim order for conduct of floor test in the Assembly on Wednesday after considering the competing claims.

During the floor test, there will be no secret ballot and the proceeding will be telecast live as per the Supreme Court order.

On November 12, the President's rule was imposed in Maharashtra after none of the parties were able to form the government.

In the October 21 elections, the BJP had won 105 seats and its pre-poll alliance partner Sena 56 seats in the 288-member House.

But the 30-year-old BJP=Sena alliance fell after Uddhav Thackarey demanded rotational chief minister.

The Congress and the NCP had won 44 and 54 seats, respectively.



Source: IANS