Perera guides Sri Lanka to Warne-Muralitharan Trophy triumph

Galle, Aug.6 : Dilruwan Perera completed a 10-wicket match haul as Sri Lanka crushed Australia by massive 229 runs on the Day Three of the second Test in Galle to seal the three-match series 2-0 and win the Warne-Muralitharan Trophy for the first time.

Chasing an improbable target of 413 runs, Australian batsmen once again struggled against Lanka's spin attack as Perera finished with the figures of six for 70 to bundle out the Steve Smith-led side for 183 runs and wrap up the victory with two days remaining.

Opener David Warner (41) and skipper Steve Smith (30) tried to provide Australia with some resistance by sharing a 51-run stand for fourth wicket, but that was not enough to guide the number one-ranked Test side to victory.

Besides `Man of the Match` Perera, Rangana Herath was another notable bowler for the hosts as he finished with six wickets overall.

Earlier, responding to Sri Lanka's first innings score of 281, Australia were crippled by inept batting as they were bundled out for a record low of 106.

Sri Lankan batsmen were also bowled out for 237 in their second innings after Mitchell Starc backed up his 5-44 in first innings with a career best 6-55.

However, the hosts stretched the lead past 400. With the win, the Angelo Mathews-led side have now taken an unassailable 2-0 lead in the three-match series and they will now play the third match starting at Sinhalese Sports Club Ground from August 13.

Source: ANI