Ranji Trophy final: Gujarat dismiss Mumbai for 228 on Day 1

Indore [India], Jan. 10 : Gujarat won Day One honours as they reduced defending champion Mumbai for a modest 228 in the first innings of the Ranji Trophy 2016 final here at the Holkar Stadium on Tuesday.

After choosing to field, Gujarat, who have made it into the final for the first time since the 1951-52 season, showed the inclination to confront Mumbai's batting strength with enthusiasm.

For Mumbai, which have won the Ranji Trophy 41 times, Prithvi Shaw (71) was the top scorer who missed out on a well deserved century before getting run-out.

Besides him, Suryakumar Yadav (57) and Abhishek Nayar (35) made some notable contributions. For Gujarat, RP Singh, Chintan Gaja and Rujul Bhatt picked two-two wickets each while Rush Kalaria and Hardik Patel scalped a wicket each.

At stumps on Day 1, the Parthiv Patel-led Gujarat were two for no loss, with Samit Gohel (2*) and Priyank Panchal (0*) at the crease.

In the 83 years of Ranji Trophy, Mumbai have reached the finals on 46 occasions and being the most successful team in the Ranji Trophy history.

Source: ANI