Siachen braveheart honoured with Sena Medal

New Delhi [India], Jan. 15 : Siachen braveheart Lance Naik Hanamanthappa Koppad, who died after he was miraculously rescued alive from beneath tonnes of snow following an avalanche that hit his post in Siachen Glacier, was today awarded the Sena Medal.

Lance Naik Hanamanthappa's wife, Mahadevi, received the medal from Army Chief General Bipin Rawat. Along with him, fifteen other bravehearts will be awarded gallantry awards. Five of them made the supreme sacrifice. Below is the list of defence personnel, who will be given the award: Major Krishna Kant Bajpai Colonel Tarun Pathak Lieutenant Colonel Rahul Pratap Singh Major Dorjee Leta Captain Vikas Panghal Captain Sushant Sharma Lieutenant Satish Kumar Mishra Rifle man Raju Thapa Rifle man Rahul Singh Lieutenant Colonel Rajesh Gulati (Posthumous) Naib Subedar Ram Singh (Posthumous) Lance Naik Govind Singh Mehta (Posthumous) Lance Naik Kulwant Singh (Posthumous) Besides, 14 Indian Army Units will be given Unit Citation for their all round performance.

The Unit Citation includes: 4 Para (SF) 9 Para (SF) 5 RAJPUT 1 LADAKH SCOUTS 18 RR (RAJ RIF) 28 RR (JAK RIF) 40 RR (DOGRA) 42 RR (ASSAM) 44 RR (RAJPUT) 3 RAJPUT 14 SIKH LI 14 SIKH LI 159 FD REGT 201 ENGR REGT 43 ASSAM RIFLES.

Source: ANI