Spanish court calls for two-year sentence for Neymar over corruption charges

Johannesburg [South Africa], Nov. 24 : Spanish prosecutors have called for a two-year jail sentence and a fine of 10 million euros for Brazilian star striker Neymar in a corruption case over his transfer from Santos to Barcelona in 2013.

According to a court filing which was revealed yesterday, the prosecutors are also seeking a five-year sentence and a fine of 8.4million euros for former Barcelona president Sandro Rosell.

The prosecutors have, however, dropped charges against current president Josep Maria Bartomeu. According to Sport24, the case initiated with a complaint from Brazilian investment company DIS, which owned 40 percent of Neymar's sporting rights at the time of his transfer from Santos in 2013.

While presenting its case, the DIS asked for five-year sentences for Neymar and his parents, eight years for Rosell and Bartomeu and a mammoth 195 million euro fine for Barcelona.

It should be noted that sentences of two years or less are habitually suspended for first time offenders in Spain.

The DIS also recommended that the Brazilian star should not be allowed to play football during any judicial sentence.

The cost of the move was initially announced at 57.1 million euros by Barcelona, out of which 17.1 million was paid to Santos and the remaining 40 million was paid to N (and) N, a company owned by Neymar's family.

However, the Spanish authorities believe the real cost escalated to 83.3 million euros. DIS, which received 6.8 million euros, 40 percent of the fee paid to Santos, believes it was cheated of its real share because part of the transfer fee was concealed by Barcelona, Santos and the Neymar family.

The company also argued that a pre-contract agreement between Neymar and Barca signed in 2011 impeded other clubs from making offers for the player, thus, affecting the value of the transfer fee.

Since moving to the Nou Camp, 24-year-old Brazilian striker has won two La Liga titles, two Copa del Rey trophies, the Champions League, the European Super Cup, the Spanish Super Cup and the Club World Cup.

Source: ANI