TN polls: Filing of nomination for Thanjavur, Aravakurichi assembly seats from today

Chennai [India], Oct. 26 : The filing of nomination for Thanjavur, Aravakurichi, Thiruparankundram Assembly constituencies in Tamil Nadu begins today.

The elections will be held on November 19 and the counting of votes will take place on November 22. The Assembly elections in Thanjavur and Aravakurichi were postponed by the Election Commission after huge seizure of unaccounted money by election flying squads.

The bypoll in Tiruparankundram was announced as AIADMK MLA Seenivel died soon after being elected. Ruling AIADMK, opposition DMK and PMK have announced their candidates for the three Assembly constituencies.

In the Assembly elections held on May 16, AIADMK retained power by winning 134 seats and DMK became the main opposition with 98 seats.

Source: ANI