Two BJP MLC elected unopposed to J-K Legislative Council

Jammu and Kashmir [India], Mar. 30 : Two candidates from Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) were elected unopposed to the Jammu and Kashmir Legislative Council.

BJP General Secretary in Jammu and Kashmir Ram Madhav said "We fielded Ajay Bhat as a covering candidate for Raina as the latter is a government employee." "On the reserved seat of Poonch, Pradeep Sharma of BJP is the lone candidate as no other party has fielded its nominee on the seat," he added.

The Election Commission will hold polls to six seats of Jammu and Kashmir Legislative Council on April 17.

Votings will be from 9.00 AM to 4.00 PM. "The counting will be held on the same day. The formal notification in this regard would be issued on March 22," CEO J (and) K Shantmanu said. As many as 87 elected and two nominated members of legislative assembly (MLA) will take part in polling through open ballot.

Six seats of legislative council shall fall vacant on April 19 due to retirement of Jehangir Hussain Mir, Jugal Kishore, Dr Bashir Ahmad Shah Veeri, Master Noor Hussain, S Dharambir Singh Oberoi (deceased) and Yasir Reshi.

Source: ANI