Biren Singh takes oath as CM, NPP’s Joykumar sworn-in his deputy

Imphal (Manipur) [India], Mar. 15 : The first BJP-led government in Manipur was sworn-in today as Governor Najma Heptulla administered the oath of office and secrecy to Nongthombam Biren Singh.

NPP's Y. Joykumar also took oath as Deputy Chief Minister. Biren Singh, a former Congressman who joined the BJP only in October last year, was sworn in as the Chief Minister along with his Council of Ministers.

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) chief Amit Shah and several union ministers, who were scheduled to attend the oath ceremony, returned to Delhi after their flight developed a technical snag.

The BJP is forming government in Manipur in alliance with small regional parties and is expected to reward them for their support with Cabinet posts.

The BJP, which has won 21 seats, has claimed it has the support of 33 legislators in the 60-member Manipur assembly.

It needs 31 for a majority. The Congress, which won the most seats, 28, could not gather the support of three more legislators to make the 31-seat majority mark.

It has accused the BJP of using "money power" to form government in Goa and Manipur..

Source: ANI