Casey Affleck, Amy Adams, Naomie Harris: ‘National Board of Review’ announces 2016 award winners

Washington D.C. [USA], Nov. 30 : The 'National Board of Review' of Motion Pictures recently announced winners of 2016 with Hollywood stars including Amy Adams, Casey Affleck and many more named winners for their critically acclaimed respective movies.

'Manchester by the Sea' which is a critically adored drama about a grieving janitor, was named Best Film of the Year' while Casey Affleck bagged the 'Best Actor' award for the same film.

Founded in 1909, the board is voted on by a mixture of academics, cinephiles, and film professionals. This year, over 250 films were viewed by this select group, followed by "in-depth discussions" with actors, directors, producers, and screenwriters.

Barry Jenkins was named best director for his work behind the camera on 'Moonlight' a coming-of-age story about a gay boy in Miami's inner city.

Naomie Harris won a 'Best Supporting Actress' award for her performance as a crack-addicted mother in the film.

Amy Adams was named 'Best Actress' for her turn as a linguist trying to communicate with aliens in 'Arrival'.

Jeff Bridges nabbed 'Best Supporting Actor' for his portrayal of a Texas ranger on the verge of retirement in 'Hell or High Water.' 'Best Adapted Screenplay' went to 'Silence', a religious drama about Jesuit priests in feudal Japan.

The film is a passion project of Martin Scorsese, who has been trying to get it made for decades. 'Kubo and the Two Strings', a 3D stop-motion fantasy, was named 'Best Animated Feature'. The awards for 'Breakthrough Performance' honors went to Lucas Hedges for 'Manchester by the Sea' and Royalty Hightower for 'The Fits', while Trey Edward Shults was recognized for his directorial debut 'Krisha'.

Iranian drama 'The Salesman' won 'Best Foreign Language Film' and 'O.J. Made in America' which is a six-hour film about football star and alleged murderer O.J. Simpson was named 'Best Documentary'. More information on the award winners of 2016 is available on the official website of the National Board of Review of Motion Pictures.

Source: ANI