JD (U) ‘divided’ over Yogi Adityanath’s ascension to UP CM

New Delhi [India], Mar.19 : The Janata Dal (United) appears to be divided over the Bharatiya Janata Party's decision to appoint Yogi Adityanath's as the Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh, as difference of opinion over the character of the priest-turned-politician seems to be creating cracks in the party.

Speaking to ANI here, JD (U) national secretary general K C Tyagi said, "We are unhappy with Yogi Adityanath's selection by BJP as chief minister of Uttar Pradesh.

He is a divisive man who propagates divisive agenda and is known to communally polarise people." On the other hand, another JD (U) leader Sharad Yadav congratulated Yogi Adityanath saying that the party believes that he will ensure complete development and progress for the state.

"My best wishes to the party as they attained massive mandate in Uttar Pradesh polls. We have full faith that Yogi Adiyanath will fulfill party's dream and bring about all round development of the state," Yadav said.

The BJP named Yogi Adityanath as the next Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister while Keshav Prasad Maurya and Dinesh Sharma have been appointed as the deputy chief ministers of the state on Saturday.

Union Minister Venkaiah Naidu said the oath taking ceremony would take place at 2:15 p.m. today in Uttar Pradesh in the presence of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP president Amit Shah. Adityanath had flown to New Delhi on Saturday to meet Prime Minister Narendra Modi. Adityanath, a five-time MP from the Gorakhpur constituency, was the youngest member of the 12th Lok Sabha at the age of 26.

Currently, Adityanath serves as the Mahant of Guru Gorakhnath Temple in Gorakhpur, following the death of Mahanth Aavaidyanath on September 12, 2014.

The other contenders in the race were Uttar Pradesh BJP chief Keshav Prasad Maurya, Union Minister Manoj Sinha, BJP leader Shrikant Sharma and Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh.

In the recently held polls in the state, BJP had bagged 312 seats, and its allies 13, taking the alliance's tally to 325 in the 403-member Assembly.

Source: ANI