Kohli named captain, Yuvraj back for ODIs, T20s against England

Mumbai [India], Jan.6 : The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Friday named swashbuckling batsman Virat Kohli as the captain of the India's limited-overs side.

Following a prolonged drama before the team selection, the MSK Prasad-led selection committee finally confirmed that Test skipper Kohli would also lead the 15-man Indian squad for the three-match ODIs and T20 series respectively against England, beginning on January 15 at the Maharashtra Cricket Association (MCA) Stadium.

Mahendra Singh Dhoni, who stepped down from the post of the country's limited-overs skipper on Wednesday after leading India in 331 games across formats, has been retained in the squads for the wicket-keeper-batsman slot after keeping himself available for selection for England series.

Flamboyant all-rounder Yuvraj Singh has also been recalled in both ODI and T20 squad, which also sees a return for experienced seamer Ashish Nehra.

19-year-old Rishabh Pant has also earned his maiden senior team call-up with the selection committee including the precocious batsman in the T20 squad.

Earlier, the meeting to select India's squads for the ODI and T20I series was delayed by three hours because of a lack of clarity over protocol in the wake of the Supreme Court order on January 2, which left the country's cricket board without most of its office-bearers.

India's ODI squad is as follows: Virat Kohli (C), Mahendra Singh Dhoni (wk), KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, Yuvraj Singh, Ajinkya Rahane , Hardik Pandya, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Amit Mishra, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav.

India's T20 squad is as follows: Virat Kohli (Capt), Mahendra Singh Dhoni (wk), Mandeep Singh, KL Rahul, Yuvraj Singh, Ajinkya Raina, Rishabh Pant, Hardik Pandya, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Manish Pandey, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ashish Nehra.

Source: ANI