Nehra makes comeback, Rahane left out for Australia T20Is

Mumbai [India], Oct 2 : Veteran pacer Ashish Nehra has been recalled in the 15-member Indian squad for the three-match T20I series against Australia, beginning October 7 in Ranchi.

The left-arm fast bowler, who has so far appeared in 25 T20Is and took 34 wickets in them, played his last T20I match against England in Bengaluru in February this year.

He has been struggling to get back into the team after being left out for the Champions Trophy campaign and subsequent ODI series against West Indies, Sri Lanka and Australia.

Meanwhile, opener Shikhar Dhawan, who missed out recently-concluded ODI series against the Steve Smith-led side due to his wife's health issues, has also made a comeback to the side.

The national selectors have once again left out senior spinners Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja, who were rested for the preceding ODI series against Australia.

Ajinkya Rahane, who smashed back-to-back half centuries in the recently-concluded ODI series has not been included while fast bowlers Umesh Yadav and Mohammed Shami have also been dropped from the T20 squad.

The Indian T20I squad is as follows: Virat Kohli (Captain), Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, Dinesh Karthik, MS Dhoni (wk), Hardik Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ashish Nehra, Axar Patel.

Source: ANI