Pakistan eye historic 9-0 drubbing of Windies in Sharjah

Johannesburg [South Africa], Oct. 29 : Having already won the three-match Test series, Pakistan would aim to complete a historic 9-0 rout of the West Indies when the two teams meet in the final match in Sharjah starting from Sunday.

Pakistan have been ruthless in their contests against the Caribbeans, having won the three-match T20 and ODI series by 3-0 respectively.

They continued the form in the longer version of the game as they defeated the West Indies by 56 runs in the day-nighter in Dubai and by 133 runs in the second match in Abu Dhabi.

If Pakistan beat the Jason Holder-led side in the last Test, they would become the first team in the cricket history to win all nine matches of a tour.

The strong batting of Pakistan, coupled with the leg-spin of Yasir Shah, have proved too good for the opposition.

It would be a herculean task for the West Indies to avoid another whitewash in Tests despite fighting valiantly and extending the games to the fifth and final days with some stubborn batting display.

"Yes, we want to be ruthless, definitely," Pakistan coach Mickey Arthur was quoted as saying by Sport24.

"We set the challenge that we have eight Tests to play (three in the UAE followed by five in New Zealand and Australia).

We have only played two. We are going to judge ourselves on the eight Tests and every Test presents a different challenge," he added.

From Sharjah, Pakistan would fly out to New Zealand to play two Tests followed by three Test down under against Australia.

Arthur, however, insisted that besides the results, he wants the team to show a consistent performance from Pakistan which have been notorious for being unpredictable.

"I go deeper than getting good results. I want us to play a good brand of cricket, see improvement in the players and the roles players are executing.Those are all things I really take note of and the way we are going is unbelievable.

Everybody is improving and settled in what they are doing and work rate is outstanding." The two teams for the last Test are as follows: Pakistan: Misbah-ul-Haq (captain), Azhar Ali, Sami Aslam, Asad Shafiq, Younis Khan, Babar Azam, Sarfraz Ahmed, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Amir, Wahab Riaz, Yasir Shah, Zulfiqar Babar, Rahat Ali, Sohail Khan, Imran Khan West Indies: Jason Holder (captain), Kraigg Brathwaite, Devendra Bishoo, Jermaine Blackwood, Carlos Brathwaite, Darren Bravo, Roston Chase, Miguel Cummins, Shane Dowrich, Shannon Gabriel, Shai Hope, Leon Johnson, Alzarri Joseph, Marlon Samuels, Jomel Warrican.

Source: ANI