Sports Ministry felicitates Indian eves on winning 4th Asian Champions Trophy

New Delhi [India], Nov.10 : The Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports on Thursday felicitated the Indian Women's Hockey Team and its coaching staff on winning the 4th Asian Champions Trophy at Major Dhyan Chand National Stadium in Singapore.

The Indian team led by captain Deepika and coach Neil Hawgood was felicitated by Vijay Goel, Honorable Minister for Youth Affairs and Sports (Independent Charge) and Rajiv Yadav, Secretary, Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports.

Former Indian hockey skipper Viren Rasquinha was also present at the occasion and was all praise for the remarkable performance by the Indian girls during the tournament.

Right after the victory, Hockey India had also honoured the team with a cash prize announcement of Rs 2 Lakhs each for the players and the Chief Coach Neil Hawgood.

Besides this Hockey India also announced Rs 1 Lakh for the other support staff of the team. The prize money of Rs 1 Lakh was announced for Deepika , who emerged as the highest scorer of the tournament.

Earlier this month, India were crowned Asian Champions for the first time after defeating China 2-1 in a thrilling encounter that displayed their conviction and hunger for victory.

Prior to this, India's best finish in the Women's Asian Champions Trophy came in the last edition in 2013 when it finished runner-up to Japan, days after the Men's Hockey Team clinched the Asia Champions title by getting the better of arch-rivals Pakistan in Malaysia.

Source: ANI