Champions Trophy: Bangladesh opt to bat against Australia

London [UK], June 5 : Bangladesh won the toss and elected to bat against Australia in their second Group B match here at the Kennington Oval, London on Monday.

Bangladesh have replaced Mosaddek Hossain with Mehedi Hasan while Australia have called in spinner Adam Zampa in place of John Hastings.

Both teams head into their penultimate group game of the eight-team marquee event knowing that a defeat will knock them out of the competition.

Neither of the two teams have started strongly in the tournament. While Bangladesh slumped to an eight-wicket defeat against hosts England in the tournament opener, Australia's first match against New Zealand was largely affected by rain before it was eventually abandoned, and both the Trans-Tasman rivals earned a point each.

Bangladesh, on the other hand, need four points from their remaining two games. Australia (Playing XI): David Warner, Aaron Finch, Steven Smith(c), Moises Henriques, Travis Head, Glenn Maxwell, Matthew Wade(w), Mitchell Starc, Pat Cummins, Adam Zampa, Josh Hazlewood Bangladesh (Playing XI): Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Imrul Kayes, Mushfiqur Rahim(w), Shakib Al Hasan, Sabbir Rahman, Mahmudullah, Mehedi Hasan, Mashrafe Mortaza(c), Mustafizur Rahman, Rubel Hossain.

Source: ANI